INSECURE

Am I the only one who has been sleep on the HBO series: INSECURE? First off, where has this explosion of  black realness been all my life.  I mean, y’all cannot understood that from the 1st episode I was in love. I ended up binge watching  all eight episodes in one night.

I am not a big HBO viewer, so I was not ready for the laying of that D (lol) and a large helping of “I’ll beat it , beat it up.” Hahahaha. To say that I  am “into” this show is an understatement.  The characters are so identifiable.  Hold up! Don’t judge me. Not all the situations I personally experienced but it was still some real issh in every episode. I was captivated by these two black women who spoke just like my friends and I. I mean, we all curse and get ratchet from time to time. We, just like Issa and Molly were chameleons who could switch it up when necessary (like at work ). Issa and Molly are facing life ugly curves balls one day at a time.

rs_1024x759-161212095444-1024-insecure-issa-rae-3-ch-121216

They’re relationships are like ones we actually know. Inside each relationship whether it is the main squeeze or  the guy you call for a quickie, you’ll reflect on these messy situations. Even though I am married, not all of my close friends are and we constantly share stories about our relationships, sex, and work life. So I see them in a few episodes which made me burst into laughter or snap at the television.

 

161110-ep06-issa-hugging-lawrence-1920

I love the bond that Issa and Lawrence(boyfriend) shared. Though they faced hardships like many  couples do, they were tempted and always tested. The balance and screw ups reminded viewers you don’t miss a good thing until it’s gone. I give this series 4 thumbs up. That’s from my husband and I. For the record, Lawrence never technically left Issa, but there was a huge surprise to end the season that I was not ready for. No spoiler alerts. Go watch it for yourself lol. I am so excited and ready for season 2 Insecure. Go Black Girl! Go!

**Please keep in mind this is an adult series. I do not recommend to watch this show with anyone under the age of 18.**

 

Subscribe to my blog. Be sure to repost on Facebook, Twitter, and IG.

-Anna Williams

 

One thought on “INSECURE

Leave a Reply

